generic bond icon

Virginia Driver Training School Bond

Select Bond For Price


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a driving school bond cost in Virginia?

The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles requires owners of driving training schools to post surety bonds to legally work within the state. Class A driver training schools must post a $100,000 surety bond, and Class B schools must post a $5,000 surety bond.

These bonds are subject to underwriting, so the cost of the bond will be determined by an underwriter’s review of the applicant’s qualifications. Subject to approval, the cost of driving school bonds can be as little as 1% of the bond amount.

Bond Type
$5,000Driver Training School BondClass B License
$100,000Driver Training School BondClass A License

Why do I need this bond?

By posting a Virginia driver training school bond, the principal (driving school) promises to conduct business according to the provisions of Chapter 17, Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia. If the principal fails to comply with these terms, the bond protects harmed parties from financial loss.

What’s the fine print?

Driver training school bonds in Virginia remain in full force and effect until canceled. These bonds continue indefinitely from license renewal to license renewal. The surety can cancel the bond at any time upon giving written notice of cancellation to the Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles 30 days prior to canceling the bond.

This bond form must be signed by a notary public.

A Class A licensee is a driver training school that provides training in the operation of commercial motor vehicles. A Class B licensee is a driver training school that provides training in the operation of any type of motor vehicle other than motorcycles and commercial motor vehicles.

How to start a driving school in Virginia

To become licensed to operate a driver training school in Virginia, applicants must:

  • submit a completed application along with any associated fees and other documentation
  • be at least 21 years of age
  • be able to document with driving records at least 5 years of licensed driving experience (at least 2 years in the United States)
  • be able to effectively communicate in English in an easily understood and comprehensible manner
  • hold a valid driver’s license
  • have a driving record with no more than 6 demerit points

Individuals seeking an instructor’s license must be already employed by a licensed school and cannot be employed by more than one school at the same time unless all schools are owned by the same person.

Complete licensing information can be accessed from the Additional Resources section of this page.

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert