generic bond icon

Virginia Household Goods Carrier Bond

Price Varies / 1 year term


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a household goods carrier bond cost in Virginia?

The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles requires household goods carriers to post $50,000 surety bonds as a licensing requirement.

The best way to find out exactly how much you’ll pay for your Virginia surety bond is to request your free surety bond quote now.

Bond Type
$50,000Household Goods Carrier Bond

Why do I need this bond?

Virginia household goods carrier bonds are put in place to ensure that principals (household goods carriers) comply with the provisions of Chapter 21 of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia.

If the principal fails to conduct business ethically and in accordance with the law, the bond protects any person who suffers loss as a result of the principal’s actions up the full bond amount of $50,000.

Ready to purchase your Virginia surety bond quickly and easily? Contact our team of surety experts and they will assist you with all of your bonding questions and needs.

What’s the fine print?

Household goods carrier bonds in Virginia remain in full force and effect as long as the principal remains in compliance with the terms of the surety bond agreement. These bonds do not automatically expire with the carrier’s license, but instead continue from certificate term to certificate term for a period of 5 consecutive years.

The surety can cancel this bond by giving written notice of cancellation to the commissioner at least 60 days prior to the effective termination date.

How to become a household goods carrier in Virginia

To become registered as a household goods carrier in Virginia, applicants must do the following:

  • register the vehicle as for-hire
  • pay the $50 filing fee
  • pay the $10 operating authority registration fee per vehicle
  • pay $3 for a duplicate certificate
  • post a $50,000 surety bond
  • meet the bodily injury and property damage insurance policy requirements

More licensing information can be accessed from the Additional Resources section of this page.

Take the first step toward becoming licensed in Virginia by purchasing your surety bond.

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert