West Virginia Private Detective or Investigator Bond

Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.


1 year term



2 year term - save $25.00!



3 year term - save $50.00!

Want your bond Saturday, Jun. 8? Buy your bond within 20 hrs 41 min and choose overnight shipping at checkout!


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a $5,000 private investigator or detective bond cost in West Virginia?

One-year $5,000 West Virginia private detective or investigator surety bonds cost just $100 with SuretyBonds.com. If you buy a bond for multiple years, there is a multi-year discount offered. Simply click Buy Now to visit our secure bond checkout, where you can purchase your bond directly from our site. It only takes a few minutes to be on your way to being bonded as a West Virginia private detective or investigator.

Bond Type
$5,000Private Detective or Investigator Bond

Why do I need this bond?

The West Virginia Secretary of State requires private detectives and investigators to post $5,000 surety bonds.

Private detective or investigator bonds in West Virginia ensure that principals (detectives/investigators) comply with all provisions, rules, regulations and amendments provided by the Secretary of State. If the principal does not conduct business in a lawful manner, he or she will be held responsible for compensating the surety for any damages it covers.

What’s the fine print?

If the principal remains compliant with all regulations and performs all business lawfully and ethically, the bond will remain in full force and effect. The bond’s expiration date is stated on the bond form.

A notary public must acknowledge that the principal has met all requirements and sign the bond form.

How to become a private investigator or detective West Virginia

To be eligible to apply for a private investigator license in West Virginia, applicants must adhere to all steps of the licensing process:

  • Minimum 18 years of age
  • Citizen of U.S. or alien legally residing in U.S.
  • Demonstrate good moral character
  • No previous investigator or security guard license revocation or denial
  • Have not been declared incompetent by a court due to mental defect or illness
  • No addiction to narcotics or alcohol
  • No felony convictions

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert