generic bond icon

Wyoming Certificate of Title Bond

Price Varies / 3 year term


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a Wyoming certificate of title bond cost?

Wyoming certificate of title bond costs start at $100. Your exact cost will vary depending on the bond amount required by the state.

  • Bond amounts up to $6,000 cost $100.
  • Bond amounts from $6,0001 to $50,000 cost $15 for every $1,000 of coverage.
  • Bond amounts more than $50,000 must be reviewed by an underwriter for pricing, starting at $750.

How do you get a Wyoming certificate of title bond?

You can purchase Wyoming certificate of title bonds online 24/7. You must provide the following information for the state's approval.

  • vehicle owner's name
  • address
  • vehicle identification number (VIN)
  • year
  • make
  • model
  • appraisal value

Once your payment has been processed, you'll receive a copy of your Wyoming title bond by email instantly, and your official bond will be shipped to your preferred mailing address.

How fast can I get a lost title bond?

The Department of Transportation requires your official Wyoming surety bond be physically issued and shipped directly to you. Orders received by 4 PM CST Monday-Friday are typically shipped same-day. If you're in a rush, choose overnight shipping during checkout.

Bond Type
$5,000-$6,000Certificate of Title Bond
$6,001-$25,000Certificate of Title Bond
$25,001-$50,000Certificate of Title Bond
$50,001-$200,000Certificate of Title Bond

What is a Wyoming certificate of title bond?

Wyoming Statute 31-2-105 requires individuals file a surety bond if they have insufficient vehicle ownership evidence. The Wyoming title bond is a one-time, non-refundable instrument that allows a new vehicle title to be issued for registration when the original title is not available. The bond protects any prior owner, lien holder, or subsequent purchaser against expenses, losses, or damages resulting from the certificate of title issuance.

If the individual turns out not to be the legal vehicle owner, the surety company will pay any valid claim up to the full bond amount. The bonded vehicle owner must then reimburse the surety company for damages paid.

Who registers vehicles in Wyoming?

Although the Wyoming Department of Transportation enforces bonded title requirements, individual county clerk offices manage vehicle registration in Wyoming. All vehicle registration paperwork will be filed with your local county clerk, who will also issue your bonded title once your application is approved.

Please note a Wyoming lost title bond is required if you have insufficient vehicle ownership. If you plan to sell vehicles, a separate Wyoming vehicle dealer bond is required.

What are the conditions of the Wyoming certificate of title bond?

Wyoming law requires bond amounts be 2 times the vehicle's value at the time of the application as determined from any current national appraisal guide. If you need help determining your required bond amount, the state advises to request a certified written appraisal statement from a licensed Wyoming vehicle dealer before purchasing your surety bond.

Certificate of title bonds are not required to register vehicles valued at less than $2,500. The minimum bond amount required is $5,000.

How do I update or change my lost title bond form?

If your county clerk requires your Wyoming surety bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your lost title bond from, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.

The most common changes for these bonds include:

  • vehicle owner's name
  • address
  • vehicle information

Do I need to renew my vehicle ownership surety bond?

Wyoming vehicle ownership bonds do not renew. The surety bond requirement is valid for 3 years from bond's effective date.

How do I get a Wyoming bonded title?

After verifying your vehicle is eligible for a bonded title, complete the steps below as required by the Wyoming Department of Transportation.

  1. Fill out an affidavit form.
  2. Get a VIN inspection by law enforcement.
  3. Request a vehicle title search from the Wyoming Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Services.
  4. If your vehicle has any open liens, contact the lienholder to request the lien be removed.
  5. If a previous vehicle owner still has ownership, request it be transferred to you.
  6. Determine your current vehicle value from a current national appraisal guide, current/past registration, or a vehicle dealer licensed by the state.
  7. Purchase your Wyoming title bond in the correct required amount.
  8. File all paperwork with your local county clerk office.

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert