generic bond icon

California Car Wash Bond

Select Bond For Price


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a $150,000 car wash bond cost in California?

The California Department of Industrial Relations’ Division of Labor Standards Enforcement requires car washes in the state to post surety bonds prior to conducting business. Applicants with a strong credit report could qualify for rates as low as $1,500.

Mobile car wash businesses in the City of Santa Maria must also file a $20,000 surety bond. Apply for a free quote starting at just 1%, or $200.

Fill out our application and receive your free, no-obligation bond quote!

Bond Type
$150,000Car Wash Bond
$20,000City of Santa Maria Mobile Car Washing Bond

If you’re ready to become bonded quickly, easily and accurately, call at 1 (800) 308-4358 or fill out an online bond request form now. You’ll be connected with an expert surety specialist who will walk you through each step of our fast and easy bonding process.

Why do I need this bond?

California car wash surety bonds are put in place to ensure that principals (car washes) pay all earned wages, interest on wages and fringe benefits due to employees according to Sections 351 and/or 353 of the California Labor Code. If the principal fails to pay all sums appropriately, the bond protects harmed parties from financial loss up to the full penal sum of the bond ($150,000). The principal must reimburse the surety for all damages paid out.

City of Santa Maria mobile car washing bonds are required as part of the city permitting process. This ensures the car wash operates on private properties, maintains proper records and follows all permit requirements.

Apply for your free surety bond quote now!

What’s the fine print?

Car wash bonds in California are more like wage and welfare surety bonds rather than traditional license and permit bonds.

These bonds are continuous in nature and remain in full force and effect unless terminated or canceled.

The surety can cancel the bond in accordance with Article 13 of Chapter 2, Title 14, Part 2 of the Code of Civil Procedure.

How to start a car wash in California

Learn How to get a California Car Wash License by reviewing our comprehensive guide.

Every person engaged in the business of car washing and polishing must register with the Labor Commissioner. To becoming registered, applicants must complete and submit an application package and pay all required fees.

Application packages can be downloaded online, picked up in person at the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement office in San Francisco, or requested by mail. Required fees vary depending on whether the application is new or a renewal and how many branches the applicant operates.

Take the first step toward becoming registered in California by purchasing the car wash bond you need!

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert