generic bond icon

Kansas Auto Dealer Bond

Price Varies / 1 year term


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does the Kansas auto dealer bond cost?

Kansas auto dealer bond costs start at $350 for the state-required 1-year term. Your exact premium will be provided after a quick application review. Apply now to get your free personal auto dealer surety bond quote!

How do you get the Kansas auto dealer bond?

You can apply for your free Kansas auto vehicle dealer bond quote online 24/7. You'll need to provide the following information for Department of Revenue approval.

  • dealer/dealership name
  • dealer/dealership main office location 
  • business structure
  • dealer license number, if available

Once you've paid your invoice, your official auto dealer surety bond will be shipped to your preferred mailing address.

How fast can I get a motor vehicle dealer bond?

Our industry-leading technology and responsive customer service team allow us to offer free quotes and deliver official Kansas motor vehicle dealer bonds faster than any other surety provider. The DOR requires your Kansas motor vehicle dealer bond be physically issued and shipped to you, so choose overnight shipping during checkout if you're in a rush. Orders placed by 4 PM CST Monday-Friday are typically shipped same-day.

If you have questions about the Kansas auto dealer bond or your application, call 1(800)308-4358 to speak with a friendly surety expert. We're here to guide you through the motor vehicle dealer bond process so you can get back to running your business.

Bond Type
$50,000Vehicle Dealer Bond

What is a Kansas auto dealer bond? 

Kansas Revised Statute 8-2404 requires auto dealers file a $50,000 surety bond before being licensed to sell vehicles the state. The bond obligates auto dealers to follow regulatory statutes regarding the manufacturing, distributing, selling, and disposal of vehicles. The $50,000 DOR form D-30 is officially titled the “Vehicle Dealer Bond.” 

Why does Kansas require vehicle dealers to be bonded? 

By filing a motor vehicle dealer bond, dealerships agree to comply with the state's auto dealer licensing provisions. If they fail to do so and a vehicle buyer or seller sustains a loss, the bond provides financial protection. The issuing surety company will pay valid claims up to the full $50,000 bond amount, which the bonded car dealer must then reimburse.

Who regulates auto dealer licensing?

The Kansas Department of Revenue Division of Vehicles enforces licensing regulations for auto dealers in the state, including the $50,000 surety bond requirement. If you have questions about Kansas auto dealer license requirements or your license application, call the Dealer Licensing Bureau at 1(785)296-3621 or email [email protected].

What is the amount of the Kansas motor vehicle dealer bond?

The Kansas motor vehicle dealer bond amount is $50,000. The Kansas DOR increased the required bond amount from $30,000 to $50,000 effective January 1, 2022. 

How do Kansas auto dealers file your bond? 

The state requires you to mail your original signed motor vehicle dealer bond to the Dealer Licensing Bureau. 

Kansas Department of Revenue
Division of Vehicles
Dealer Licensing Bureau
P.O. Box 2369
Topeka, KS 66601-2369

How do I update or change my auto dealer bond form? 

If the Kansas Department of Revenue Division of Vehicles requires your bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.

The most common changes requested for these bonds include:

  • dealer/dealership's name
  • dealer/dealership main office location 
  • business structure
  • dealer license number

How do I renew my vehicle dealer bond?

Your car dealer bond must be renewed before its current 1-year term expires. Once you pay your renewal invoice, renewal instructions will be emailed to you to keep your bond active for your next license term. 

How do dealers apply for a motor vehicle dealer license in Kansas?

To become a licensed auto dealer in Kansas, applicants must complete these steps.

  1. Have a permanent business location with a name that matches the name on the sales tax registration number.
  2. Own a phone listed under the business name.
  3. Put up a sign with your business name.
  4. Get a zoning certification completed by either the county or city zoning office.
  5. Buy insurance coverage that includes both the business property and its inventory.
  6. Provide a tax clearance and show that all personal property taxes have been completed.
  7. Provide 3 credit references.
  8. Complete the Kansas Article of Incorporation form.
  9. Purchase and file a $50,000 Kansas auto dealer bond.
  10. Fill out your Kansas auto dealer license application.

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert