generic bond icon

Maine Investigator or Investigative Assistant Bond

Select Bond For Price
We offer 24/7 instant email delivery. Buy your bond now to get it within 6 minutes!


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does an investigator or investigative assistant bond cost in Maine?

The Department of Public Safety - Maine State Police requires private investigators and investigative assistants to be bonded prior to receiving a license. The bond amount is determined by the license type and is as follows:

  • Resident Investigator = $10,000
  • Investigative Assistant = $20,000
  • Non-Resident Investigator = $50,000

Although there are a range of bond amounts, issues all three instantly without a credit check. Multi-year discounts are available. Simply click Buy Now to visit our secure bond checkout where you can buy your bond online, directly through our site. In just a few minutes you can be on your way to being bonded as a resident or non-resident investigator or investigative assistant in Maine.

Bond Type
$10,000Investigator or Investigative Assistant BondResident Professional Investigator
$20,000Investigator or Investigative Assistant BondInvestigative Assistant
$50,000Investigator or Investigative Assistant BondNon-Resident Resident Professional Investigator

Why do I need this bond?

Pursuant to Title 32, Chapter 93 of the Maine Revised Statutes, investigator and investigative assistant bonds are required to protect the public from unethical and unlawful acts committed by the investigator or assistant. If the applicant fails to follow the law, a claim can be made against the bond by the city and/or any person who was injured by the company’s faulty business practices.

What’s the fine print?

Maine investigator and investigative assistant bonds remain in effect for a full year unless canceled or claimed against. Principals must provide a continuation certificate to the state every year for as long as they wish to maintain their license.

How to become a private investigator in Maine

In addition to posting a surety bond, an applicant must be the following qualifications to become a private investigator:

  • Minimum 21 years old
  • United States citizen
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Proven good moral character

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert