1 (800) 308-4358
Mon-Fri 7am-7pm CST
  1. 1. Choose A State
  2. 2. Choose A Bond
  3. 3. Enter Your Contact Info
  4. 4. Receive Your Free Quote

Michigan Money Transmitter Bond

How much does a money transmitter bond cost in Michigan?

The Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services requires money transmitter professionals to post a surety bond in order to legally conduct business in the state. The amount of the bond is determined by the commissioner and is based on both the number of locations and authorized delegates of the applicant. Applicants should verify their bond amount with the state.

These bonds are subject to underwriting, so the amount you’ll pay depends on a review of your personal financial statement. Let our experts help you determine your bond cost. Request your free bond quote now!

Bond Type Bond Amount Cost*
$500,000-$1,500,000 Money Transmitter Bond $500,000-$1,500,000 Starts at 1.5% GET A QUOTE

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 or fill out our online bond form today and get your free, no-obligation bond quote!

Why do I need this bond?

This bond ensures that licensed money transmitters adhere to the rules and regulations in the Michigan Money Transmission Services Act. It protects consumers from financial damages in the event that the principal (money transmitters) fails to comply with the terms of the Act.

If the principal does not conduct business lawfully, he or she must compensate the surety for any damages it covers.

Ready to purchase your money transmitter bond? Contact a surety bond expert to receive your bond quote!

What’s the fine print?

The bond remains in full force and effect as long as the principal complies with all applicable laws, rules and regulations. It expires on December 31.

Michigan money transmitters must register as money services businesses with the Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN) of the United States Department of the Treasury.

How to become a money transmitter in Michigan

Michigan requires money transmitters to become licensed to legally operate in the state. Licensing requirements include:

  • $600 non-refundable application and investigation fee
  • Net worth of at least $100,000 plus $25,000 per location if services are offered at more than one location
  • Description of money services offered by the applicant previously (if any) as well as the services the applicant intends to offer

Check with the Department of Insurance and Financial Services for a full list of requirements.

If you have any questions or if you’re ready to get bonded, submit a bond request or call 1 (800) 308-4358 today!

Ready to get started?

Get a FREE Money Transmitter Bond Quote Today!

Additional Resources

Michigan Money Transmission Services Act

DIFS Money Transmission Services Licensing Information

NMLS New Application Checklist for Michigan Money Transmitter License

FinCEN Money Services Businesses Registration Information

Overnight Shipping
50,000 Satisfied
Customers Nationwide
No Hidden Fees