generic bond icon

Mississippi Certificate of Title Bond

Price Varies / 3 year term


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a Mississippi title bond cost?

Mississippi title bond costs start at $100 for the state-required 3-year term. The exact cost will vary depending on the surety bond amount required by the Mississippi Department of Revenue.

  • Bond amounts from $1,000 to $50,000 cost $15 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $100.
  • Bond amounts over $50,000 must be reviewed by an underwriter for pricing, starting at $750.

How do you obtain a Mississippi certificate of title bond?

You can purchase your Mississippi title bond online 24/7. You must provide the following information for Department of Revenue approval.

  • vehicle owner name
  • address
  • vehicle identification number (VIN)
  • vehicle year, make, model, and body type
  • cylinders
  • new or used

Once your order is processed, your official title surety bond documentation will be emailed to you instantly.

How fast can I get a vehicle title bond? offers instant Mississippi vehicle title bond delivery 24/7. Purchase now to receive your official bond delivered in minutes by email.

*Note: If your bond amount is more than $50,000, your purchase order will be reviewed by a team member before your documents are emailed.

Bond Type
$1,000-$7,000Certificate of Title Bond
$7,001-$25,000Certificate of Title Bond
$25,001-$50,000Certificate of Title Bond
$50,001-$100,000Certificate of Title Bond

What is the purpose of a Mississippi certificate of title bond?

Mississippi Code Section 63-21-23 requires a lost title bond be provided for vehicle registration when an individual is missing their official vehicle title. This code (also known as the “Mississippi Motor Vehicle Title Act") specifically requires a Mississippi title bond be filed with the state before an individual applies for their bonded title. The purpose of these bonds is to provide a security interest when vehicle ownership cannot be verified and a replacement title has been requested.

Why is a Mississippi certificate of title bond required?

This title surety bond protects prior owners, prior lien holders, and future purchasers from expenses, losses, or damages resulting from certificate of title issuance. By filing the bond form, the vehicle owner verifies they legally own the vehicle. If the original title is found and a valid claim is made against the bond, the insurance company will pay losses up to the full bond amount. The vehicle owner must then reimburse the insurance company for claims paid.

Please note this bond only allows a duplicate title to be issued for a vehicle. If you plan to sell used vehicles, a separate Mississippi designated agent bond is required.

Who regulates registration for vehicles missing titles?

The Mississippi Department of Revenue enforces registration requirements for all vehicles in the state, including those missing official titles. Questions about getting bonded titles in Mississippi should be directed to the Title Bureau at 1(601)923-7200. 

How do I determine my bond amount?

Mississippi law requires the title surety bond amount be 1.5 times the value of the vehicle, manufactured home, or mobile home as determined by the Department of Revenue. If you need help determining your exact required bond amount, contact the Department of Revue before purchasing your lost title bond.

How do Mississippi bonded title applicants file your bond?

The state requires all bonded title documentation be mailed to:

Mississippi Department of Revenue
Motor Vehicle Services
P. O. Box 1383
Jackson, MS 39215-1383

The Department of Revenue only accepts bonds filed within 30 days of their effective date, so file your car title bond as soon as possible after receiving it from your surety provider. 

How do I update or change my bond form?

If the Department of Revenue requires any updates to your bond documentation, contact your surety provider. If your bond was purchased from, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.

The most common changes for these bonds include:

  • vehicle information
  • owner's name
  • owner's address

Does your Mississippi bonded title expire?

Yes, your Mississippi certificate of title bond will expire after 3 years. It will not need to be renewed after its original 3-year term.

How do Mississippi residents apply for a bonded title?

Learn how to get a Mississippi bonded title by reviewing our comprehensive guide.

  1. Contact the DOR to verify your vehicle is eligible for a bonded title.
  2. Purchase your surety bond in the correct required amount. 
  3. Pay your application fee, which is $9 for Replacement Certificate of Title Form Application 78-006 or $39 for FAST TRACK Replacement Certificate of Title Form Application 78-026.
  4. Mail your application and surety bond to the Mississippi Department of Revenue Motor Vehicle Services along with any required signatures and supporting documentation as outlined on your application. 

Standard applications are typically processed within 10 to 14 days of DOR receipt. FAST TRACK applications are typically processed within 72 hours of DOR receipt. Your original application will not be returned, so make a copy for your reference before mailing. 

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert