generic bond icon

Mississippi Designated Agent Bond

Select Bond For Price
We offer 24/7 instant email delivery. Buy your bond now to get it within 6 minutes!


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a Mississippi designated agent bond cost?

Mississippi designated agent bond costs vary based on whether you also operate as a vehicle dealer. Designated agent license bonds are valid for a 1-year term as required by the Department of Revenue.

  • The $15,000 Designated Agent Bond for Dealers costs $150.
  • The $5,000 Designated Agent Bond for Non-Dealers costs $100.

How do I get a designated agent bond in Mississippi?

You can purchase your Mississippi designated agent bond online 24/7. Simply provide the agent's name and address as they should appear on your official bond documentation. Once payment is processed, bond confirmations will be delivered to your email. 

How fast can I get a designated agent bond?

Bonds for dealers are delivered instantly by email 24/7. Purchase now to receive your official bond within minutes!

Bond confirmations for non-dealers are typically delivered by email same-day when ordered by 4 PM CST Monday-Friday. Your physical documentation will be delivered based on your preferred shipping method.

Bond Type
$15,000Designated Agent Bond for Dealers
$5,000Designated Agent Bond for Non-Dealers

What is a Mississippi designated agent bond?

Mississippi Code Title 63-21-13 requires individuals file a surety bond before they can be appointed as a designated agent to represent the State Tax Commission. Individuals appointed by the State Tax Commission can be, but don't have to be, a licensed dealer in the state.  

The $15,000 dealer form 78-905-10 is officially titled the “Bond of Designated Agent (for Motor Vehicle Dealers Only)”, but it's more commonly referred to as an “auto dealer bond,” “motor vehicle dealer bond,” or “used vehicle dealer bond.” The $5,000 non-dealer form 78-D161 is not formally titled.

The state enforces a similar, but different, surety bond requirement for individuals licensed to sell new vehicles on behalf of a franchise. To be licensed to sell new vehicles, you must purchase and file the separate Mississippi motor vehicle dealer bond

Why is the designated agent bond required?

By filing this bond, a designated agent agrees to perform all professional duties according to the Mississippi Code, specifically the Mississippi Motor Vehicle Title Act. If they fail to do so, the bond provides financial protection to those harmed by the agent's noncompliant acts. The issuing surety company will pay valid claims up to the full $5,000 or $15,000 bond amount, which the bonded designated agent must then reimburse.  

The Mississippi designated agent bond is required for professional licensing. If you're trying to register a vehicle with a missing title, a separate Mississippi certificate of title bond is required. 

Who regulates designated agents?

The Mississippi Department of Revenue approves qualified agents who apply online for designated agent status. Applicants must meet all requirements and provide a surety bond in the correct required bond amount before being approved. If you have questions about your application status, you can contact the DOR by calling 1 (601) 923-7200 or by filling out an online contact help form

How do I update or change information on my bond form?

If the Mississippi DOR requires you to make any changes to your bond documentation, contact your surety bond company. If you purchased your bond from, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.

The most common changes requested for this bond are the agent's name or address.

How do I renew my Mississippi surety bond?

You should renew your surety bond before its current 1-year term expires. Once you pay your renewal invoice, renewal instructions will be emailed to you to keep your status active for its next term. 

How do I get designated agent status in Mississippi?

Designated agents can apply for Department of Revenue consideration by completing the following steps. 

  1. Complete an online application for each location.
  2. Purchase and submit a Mississippi surety bond in the correct required amount. 

Send your original surety bond to either of the following addresses. 

Regular Mail

Mississippi Department of Revenue
Motor Vehicle Services
P.O. Box 1383
Jackson, MS 39215

Overnight Mail

Mississippi Department of Revenue
Motor Vehicle Services
500 Clinton Center Dr.
Clinton, MS 39056

You will receive a notification with your Certificate of Designated Agent once your application has been approved. 

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert