Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a Missouri auto dealer bond cost?
Missouri auto dealer bonds cost as little as $250. Missouri auto dealers need surety bonds in the amount of $50,000 or $100,000; it's best to verify your bond amount before purchasing. The SuretyBonds.com team works with a network of underwriters to help determine the lowest possible rate for your bond.
If you’re ready to get started, call 1 (800) 308-4358 or click here to receive your free personalized quote!
If you’re ready to get bonded, call SuretyBonds.com at 1 (800) 308-4358 or fill out our online bond request form. One of our experts will personally walk you through our simple bonding process and provide you with a free bond quote. It’s that easy!
What is a motor vehicle dealer bond?
A motor vehicle dealer bond is a form of consumer security that protects buyers from fraud and deceit committed by auto dealerships and their workers. Missouri auto dealer bonds are put in place to ensure that principals (car, truck and boat dealers) comply with the provisions of Missouri statutes applicable to the following professionals:
- new motor vehicle franchised dealers
- used motor vehicle dealers
- power sport dealers
- trailer dealers
- wholesale motor vehicle dealers
- boat dealers
If the dealer fails to adhere to industry laws and regulations and the terms of the surety bond contract, a claim can be filed against the bond. If the claim is proven, the surety will pay damages to harmed parties up to the full bond amount. The dealer, in turn, must reimburse the surety and could face other consequences such as suspension or revocation of the dealer’s license.
Missouri auto dealer bonds are continuous until canceled. To cancel the bond, the surety must give written notice to the principal and the Missouri Department of Revenue stating the date of cancellation. Cancellation goes into effect 30 days after the Department receives the notice of cancellation.
Have questions about this bond? Our team of surety experts can help. Call 1 (800) 308-4358 or fill out our online contact form to get started!
Please note this page is for vehicle dealer licensing. If you have lost or need to obtain a vehicle title, a Missouri certificate of title bond is required.
How to become an automobile dealer in Missouri
Each application for an auto vehicle dealer license must be submitted on the form prescribed by the state, either online or in-person, and include the following information:
- birth dates, social security numbers and residence addresses of all owners
- complete business name, physical address and mailing address, if applicable
- sales/plate order with fees calculated and recorded on the application
- proof of surety bond purchase or letter of credit
- factory franchise trade names and expiration dates
- a copy of the factory franchise agreement
- current photograph of the place of business (building, lot and sign)
- a copy of the garage liability policy (manufacturers, auctions and trailer dealers are exempt)
More information about Missouri auto dealer licensing can be accessed from the Additional Resources section of this page.
Let our experts do all the hard work for you! Click here or call 1 (800) 308-4358 to get a free bond quote.