Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a Nevada body shop or garage license bond cost?
The Nevada body shop or garage license bond costs $100 annually. You can save money by choosing our multi-year discount to extend your Nevada surety bond term during checkout!
How do you get a Nevada body shop or garage surety bond?
You can purchase your Nevada body shop or garage bond online 24/7. You'll need to provide your licensee name, county, and license type for Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles filing approval. Once your payment has been processed, a copy of your vehicle industry business bond will be delivered to your email instantly. Your official license bond will be shipped to your preferred mailing address.
How fast can you get a body shop or garage surety bond?
Our industry-leading technology and responsive customer service team allow us to deliver your official Nevada body shop or garage bond faster than any other surety company. The Nevada DMV requires your vehicle industry business bond be physically issued and shipped to you, so choose overnight shipping when submitting your order if you're in a rush. Orders placed by 4 PM CST Monday-Friday are typically shipped same-day.
What is a Nevada body shop or garage bond?
Nevada Revised Statutes 487.563 requires individuals file a $5,000 surety bond to be licensed as a vehicle repair garage while Nevada Revised Statutes 487.640 requires a $10,000 surety bond to be licensed as a vehicle body shop. State form OBL269 is officially titled the “Vehicle Industry Business License Bond” and specifically prohibits body shops and garages from committing fraud, fraudulent representations, or other violations outlined in the Nevada Revised Statutes or Nevada Administrative Code. The surety bond amount protects those harmed resulting from a body shop or garage's noncompliance.
Why is the Nevada body shop or garage license bond required?
You must purchase and file this surety bond to be licensed as a vehicle body shop or garage in Nevada. Your bond provides insurance coverage your business might cause as a result of fraud or other unlawful violations. Your surety company will pay claims to harmed individuals up to your full $5,000 or $10,000 bond amount coverage, which you must reimburse.
Who needs a body shop or garage surety bond?
Any place where a motor vehicle body is painted, fixed, repaired, or replaced for compensation is considered a body shop.
Any business operation that performs the following services for the general public is considered a garage.
- Diagnostic testing
- Engine tune up
- Oil change and lubrication
- Repair or replacement of an engine, brake system, cooling system, muffler and exhaust system, transmission system, electrical system, drive train system, electrical charging system, heating and air conditioning system or carburetion system
Who regulates body shops and garages in Nevada?
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles enforces the state's vehicle industry business licensing. If you have questions about how Nevada state law affects your current business license or new license application, you can contact the DMV by filling out their online contact form or calling 1(702)486-4368 (Las Vegas area) or 1(775)684-4368 (Reno/Sparks/Carson City area).
The Nevada DMV requires this bond for state vehicle body shop and garage licensing. The DMV also enforces other Nevada vehicle industry license bond requirements if you work as a vehicle dealer, lessor, transporter, wrecker, or salvage pool.
How do you update or change your vehicle industry bond form?
If the Nevada DMV requires your vehicle industry bond documentation be updated for any reason, contact your surety company. If you purchased your bond from SuretyBonds.com, email [email protected] to explain the needed change. The most common change requested is updating your business name to match your existing license or new registration paperwork.
How do I renew my Nevada body shop or garage bond?
You must renew your Nevada vehicle industry license bond before its current term expires. Once you pay your renewal invoice, you'll receive instructions for keeping your bond active for your renewal license term as required by state law.
How do you get a body shop or garage license in Nevada?
To apply for your Nevada body shop license, complete all Nevada DMV Body Shop Information Licensing Requirements.
To apply for your Nevada garage license, complete the following registration steps.
- Fill out Nevada business license form OBL237.
- Purchase and file $5,000 Nevada surety bond from OBL269.
- Pay your $25 nonrefundable registration application fee.
- Secure your city or county business license.
- File your fictitious firm name.
- If applicable, provide a copy of your certificate of incorporation and corporate filing.
- Provide your business Federal Identification Number (FEIN).
- Provide your business email address.
- Establish your business location.
- Post a 22 inch by 28 inch sign that's easily visible in your business to display the customer’s bill of rights according to NRS 487.6871.