Closed Monday 5/27 for Memorial Day

generic bond icon

Nevada Certificate of Title Bond

Price Varies / 3 year term

SECURE

Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.

BEST PRICES

We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.

FAST

We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a Nevada certificate of title bond cost?

Nevada title bond costs start at $100 for the state-required 3-year term. The exact cost will vary depending on the surety bond amount required by the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles.

  • Bond amounts up to $5,000 cost $100.
  • Bond amounts from $5,001 to $25,000 cost $20 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $100.
  • Bond amounts from $25,000 to $50,000 cost $15 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $375.
  • Bond amounts for more than $50,000 must be reviewed by an underwriter for pricing, starting at $750.

Where can you get a Nevada vehicle title bond?

You can purchase your Nevada lost title bond online 24/7 with SuretyBonds.com. Simply provide the following information required for Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles approval.

  • vehicle owner name
  • address
  • county
  • phone number
  • vehicle identification number (VIN)
  • vehicle year, make, and model
  • driver's license number

Once you submit your order, a copy of your surety bond documentation will be emailed to you instantly. Your official bond will be mailed to you based on your shipping selection during checkout.

How fast can I get a lost title bond?

The Nevada DMV requires your title surety bond be physically issued and delivered to you. Once your payment is processed, you'll receive a copy of your bond by email within minutes. If you're in a rush to receive your official bond, choose overnight shipping when submitting your order.

*Note: If your bond amount is higher than $25,000, your purchase order will be reviewed by a team member before your documents are issued, emailed, and shipped.

Bond Type
$100-$5,000Certificate of Title Bond
$5,001-$25,000Certificate of Title Bond
$25,001-$50,000Certificate of Title Bond
$50,001-$1,000,000Certificate of Title Bond

What is a Nevada bonded title?

Nevada Revised Statute 482.2605 requires that individuals missing official vehicle ownership documentation file a surety bond with the DMV when applying for a bonded title.  In Nevada form VP-272 is officially titled the "Vehicle Bond Affidavit," but it's more commonly known as a "certificate of title surety bond," "lost title bond," or "bonded title."

The Nevada certificate of title bond protects any prior owner, prior lien holder, or future purchaser against expenses, losses, or damages resulting from certificate of title issuance. If the original title is found and a valid claim is made against the bond, the surety company will pay damages up to the full bond amount. The bonded vehicle owner must then reimburse any claims paid.

Unsure if you require a Nevada bonded title?

If you're trying to register a vehicle with the Nevada DMV but can't provide valid ownership documentation, you can apply for a bonded title. To qualify for a bonded title, you must be a Nevada resident who owns a vehicle within the state. 

If your vehicle has an open lien, you're not eligible to purchase a surety bond to get a bonded title. 

Please note a Nevada certificate of title bond is required if you have insufficient vehicle ownership. If you plan to sell vehicles, a separate Nevada vehicle industry license bond is required.

Who regulates registration for vehicles with missing titles?

The Nevada DMV office enforces vehicle registration requirements and approves bonded title applications for missing vehicle titles. You must fulfill all DMV bond requirements before your replacement title application will be approved. 

How do I determine my bond amount? 

State law requires your bond amount be 1.5 times your vehicle appraisal value. If you need help determining your required surety bond amount, contact the Department of Motor Vehicles before purchasing your bond. The state DMV website specifically advises NOT to purchase a surety bond until the DMV has authorized your bonded title application.  

How do I update or change my bond form?

If the Nevada DMV requires any updates to your official bond documentation, contact your surety company. If you purchased your bond from SuretyBonds.com, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.

The most common changes for these bonds include:

  • vehicle information
  • owner's name
  • owner's address, county, or phone number

Do Nevada bonded titles expire?

Nevada certificate of title bonds expire after 3 years and do not renew. The DMV will return your original title surety bond to you after it expires as long as no claims have been filed against it.

What is the process to obtain a Nevada bonded title?

  1. Verify your vehicle qualifies for a bonded title by contacting the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicle Title Research Section by visiting their website or calling (775) 684-4810. 
  2. Complete parts one and two of the Affidavit for Bonded Vehicle Title, which requires you get a vehicle inspection from a law enforcement officer, a business authorized by the DMV, or a DMV office. 
  3. Submit your affidavit and copies of all ownership documents to:
    Title Research Section
    555 Wright Way
    Carson City, NV 89711
  4. After your bonded title request has been approved, purchase your title surety bond in the exact amount required by the DMV. 
  5. Once you have your official surety bond, mail your completed Vehicle Bond Affidavit and all other original documentation and fees back to the Title Research Section as outlined in the application instructions. 

The Title Research Section located in Carson City processes all bonded vehicle title applications. 

How can Nevada residents avoid claims against your lost title bond?

To avoid claims against your lost title bond, you should verify you're the vehicle's sole legal owner before purchasing your surety bond and applying for your bonded title. If you're aware of an existing lien holder, you must clear the open lien from the vehicle before purchasing a surety bond or applying for your bonded title. 

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert