Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a Nevada body shop or garage license bond cost?
The Nevada body shop or garage license bond costs $100 for the state-required 1-year term. You can save money by choosing our multi-year discount to extend your bond term during checkout!
How do I get a body shop or garage license bond in Nevada?
You can purchase your Nevada body shop or repair garage surety bond online 24/7. Simply choose the bond amount required for your license and provide the following information for Department of Motor Vehicles filing approval.
- name, including any DBA
- license type (body shop or garage)
Once your payment has been processed, your Nevada surety bond will be issued. You'll receive a digital copy by email instantly, and your physical documentation will be delivered to your preferred mailing address.
How fast can I get a body shop or garage surety bond?
SuretyBonds.com offers instant Nevada body shop or garage license bond issuance 24/7. Purchase now to receive a copy of your body shop or garage bond delivered in minutes by email. If you're in a rush and need your official physical surety bond as soon as possible, choose overnight shipping when submitting your order.
What is a Nevada body shop or repair garage bond?
The Nevada DMV requires garage shop licensees file a $5,000 surety bond while body shop licensees must file a $10,000 surety bond. Nevada DMV form OBL269 is officially titled the "Vehicle Industry Business License Bond" but is more commonly known as the “body shop or garage industry license bond,” “body shop license bond,” or “repair garage bond.” The language on the form requires that any body shop or repair garage licensed in the state comply with all rules and regulations outlined in chapters 487, 597, and 598 of the Nevada Revised Statutes or Nevada Administrative Code.
Why is the Nevada body shop or garage license bond required?
This Nevada body shop or garage license bond specifically protects any person injured by a licensee's fraud, fraudulent representation, or any other violations of the state's code. If a bonded body shop or repair garage commits fraud or otherwise violates state code when operating their business, their issuing surety company will pay valid claims up to the full $5,000 or $10,000 bond amount, which the bonded business must reimburse.
The Nevada DMV requires this bond for body shop or garage business licensing. If you're trying to register a dealer, dealership, lessor, transporter, or wrecker/salvage pool business, you need a Nevada vehicle industry business license bond.
Who regulates licensing for body shops and repair garages?
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles Occupational and Business Licensing (DMV OBL) enforces licensing regulations for body shops and repair garages in the state, including this surety bond requirement. To contact the DMV OBL, you can call 1(775)684-4690 or submit an online contact form.
How do I update or change my vehicle industry bond form?
If the DMV requires your bond form to be updated for any reason, contact your surety company. If you purchased your bond from SuretyBonds.com, email [email protected] to explain the needed change. The most common changes requested for this Nevada surety bond are updating your business name or county to match your body shop or repair garage license or application.
How do I renew my body shop or garage license bond?
You must renew your Nevada motor vehicle industry business license bond before its current term expires. Once you pay your SuretyBonds.com renewal invoice, renewal instructions will be sent to you to keep your bond active for your next repair shop business license or permit term.
How do I get a body shop or garage license in Nevada?
You must submit the following to apply for your Nevada body shop or repair garage license.
- completed application
- completed personal history questionnaire
- surety bond in the required bond amount
- copy of Certificate of Incorporation and Corporate filing (if applicable)
- copy of city or county business license
- set of fingerprints and fingerprint background waiver from each business principal (body shops only)
- 2 color photographs of the business location (body shops only)
- payment of fees
The DMV requires you mail your application packet and supporting documents to the Nevada Occupational and Business Licensing office.
Occupational and Business Licensing
555 Wright Way
Carson City, Nevada 89711