Closed Monday 5/27 for Memorial Day

generic bond icon

New Hampshire Certificate of Title Bond

Price Varies / 3 year term

SECURE

Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.

BEST PRICES

We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.

FAST

We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does the New Hampshire lost title bond cost?

New Hampshire certificate of title bond costs start at $100. The exact cost will vary depending on the surety bond amount required by the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles.

  • Bond amounts up to $5,000 cost $100.
  • Bond amounts from $5,001 to $25,000 cost $20 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $100.
  • Bond amounts from $25,001 to $50,000 cost $15 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $375.
  • Bond amounts for more than $50,000 must be reviewed by an underwriter for pricing, starting at $750.

How do I get a title bond in New Hampshire?

You can purchase New Hampshire certificate of title bonds online 24/7. You must provide the following information for Division of Motor Vehicles approval.

  • vehicle owner's name
  • address
  • vehicle identification number (VIN)
  • year
  • make
  • model
  • body type

Once your payment is received, your official surety bond will be delivered to your email.

How fast can I get a certificate of title bond?

SuretyBonds.com offers instant New Hampshire certificate of title bond delivery 24/7. Purchase now to receive your official bond delivered in minutes by email.

*Note: If your bond amount is higher than $25,000, your purchase order will be reviewed by a team member before your documents are emailed.

Bond Type
$100-$5,000Certificate of Title Bond
$5,001-$25,000Certificate of Title Bond
$25,001-$50,000Certificate of Title Bond
$50,001-$100,000Certificate of Title Bond

What is a New Hampshire title bond?

New Hampshire Revised Statute § 261:10 requires individuals with a missing vehicle title to file a surety bond for motor vehicle registration. This New Hampshire surety bond protects any prior owner, lien holder, or subsequent purchaser from financial loss resulting from the certificate of title issuance. When your certificate of title application and surety bond have been approved, the state will issue your bonded title.

Why do you need a New Hampshire certificate of title bond?

By filing a New Hampshire certificate of title bond, you verify you have legal ownership of your motor vehicle despite not having an official title. If the original title is found by another individual claiming ownership, the surety company will pay valid claims up to the full bond amount, which must be reimbursed by the bonded vehicle owner.

A New Hampshire certificate of title bond is required if you have insufficient vehicle ownership. If you're planning to sell vehicles, a separate New Hampshire motor vehicle dealer bond is required.

Who registers vehicles in New Hampshire?

The New Hampshire Department of Public Safety Division of Motor Vehicles regulates vehicle registration and title requirements. Certificate of title bonds must be submitted to the Division of Motor Vehicles within 30 days of issuance.

How do I determine my title bond amount?

New Hampshire statutes require your bond amount be 1.5 times the vehicle's value. If you need help determining your exact required bond amount, contact the New Hampshire Department of Public Safety Division of Motor Vehicles before purchasing your bond.

How do I update or change my title bond form?

If the Division of Motor Vehicles requires you to update your surety bond documentation for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from SuretyBonds.com, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.

The most common changes requested for these bonds are the vehicle owner's name and vehicle information.

Do I need to renew my title bond?

New Hampshire title bonds remain valid for 3 years from the issuance date and do not renew. The bond will be returned at the end of the 3-year term if the vehicle is no longer registered in the state and the current original vehicle title is provided to the DMV.

How do I get a New Hampshire bonded title?

If the DMV verifies your vehicle qualifies for a bonded vehicle title, complete the following steps.

  1. Purchase your New Hampshire surety bond in the correct required amount.
  2. Complete your certificate of title application, which you'll get at your local town or city clerk's office.
  3. File your registration paperwork with your local town or city clerk.

Once your application is approved, you'll receive your bonded title in 40-50 days.

What if my New Hampshire bonded title is stolen, lost, or destroyed?

The New Hampshire DMV will issue a duplicate bonded title for stolen and lost titles if you previously held the title in your name. To request a duplicate bonded title, complete the following steps.

  1. Fill out an Application for Duplicate Certificate of Title. If there are two owners on a title, each should sign the application.
  2. Pay the $25 replacement fee by check or money order.
  3. Provide a lien release, if required. If there was lien on the vehicle when purchased, the lien needs to be removed to get the vehicle titled. The form must be signed by the lienholder.
  4. Deliver the application and lien release to a New Hampshire DMV office. You can also mail it to the state DMV.

New Hampshire Department of Safety
Division of Motor Vehicles
23 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert