generic bond icon

New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond

Price Varies / 1 year term


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a New Hampshire motor vehicle dealer bond cost?

New Hampshire motor vehicle dealer bond costs start at $187.50 for the state-required 1-year term. Your exact vehicle dealer bond premium will be provided after a quick application review. Apply now to get your free New Hampshire dealer bond quote! 

How do you get a New Hampshire auto dealer bond?

You can apply for your free New Hampshire auto dealer bond quote online 24/7. You'll need to provide the following information for Division of Motor Vehicles approval.

  • dealer/dealership name, including any applicable DBA
  • dealership physical business location
  • license type
  • dealer license number, if available

Once your order has been processed, you'll receive a copy of your bond by email, and your official vehicle dealer bond will be shipped to your preferred mailing address.

How fast can I get a motor vehicle dealer surety bond?

Our industry-leading technology and responsive customer service team allow us to offer free quotes and deliver your official New Hampshire vehicle dealer bond faster than any other surety provider. The DMV requires your New Hampshire auto dealer bond be physically issued and shipped to you, so choose overnight shipping during checkout if you're in a rush. Orders placed by 4 PM CST Monday-Friday are typically shipped same-day.

If you have questions about your New Hampshire motor vehicle dealer bond or your application, call 1 (800) 308-4358 to speak with a friendly surety expert. We're here to guide you through the dealer bond process so you can get back to running your business.

Bond Type
$25,000Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond

What is a New Hampshire auto dealer bond?

New Hampshire Revised Annotated Statute 261:98 requires individuals to file a $25,000 surety bond before they can become a licensed dealer in the state. By filing this bond, a dealer agrees to perform their professional obligations according to state regulations. If they fail to do so, the issuing surety company will pay any valid claim to a purchaser or other individual who suffers a loss, which the bonded dealer must then reimburse. The form required by the state DMV is officially titled the “Vehicle Dealer's Bond,” but it's also known as an "auto dealer bond," "motor vehicle dealer bond," or "car dealer bond".

Who needs an auto dealer bond in New Hampshire?

New Hampshire regulations require the following licensed dealer types to file and maintain a $25,000 total bond amount with the DMV as long as they're professionally licensed.

  • retail dealer (RSA 259:89-a)
  • auto wholesale dealer (RSA 259:5-a)
  • automotive recycling dealer (RSA 261:123)
  • utility dealer (RSA 259:121)

The New Hampshire vehicle dealer's bond is required to get an auto dealer license in the state. If you're trying to register a vehicle with a missing title, you need a separate New Hampshire certificate of title bond.

What parties are involved in a New Hampshire motor vehicle dealer bond? 

As the "obligee," the New Hampshire Department of Safety Division of Motor Vehicles requires the bond to enforce licensing requirements for vehicle dealers in the state. As the “principal,” the dealer guarantees they'll operate their business as required by New Hampshire state law. As the “surety,” the issuing insurance company backs the dealer's professional obligation. 

How do you file your New Hampshire dealer license bond?

Once you've received your official auto dealer bond, you'll file it directly with the DMV.  

New Hampshire Department of Safety
Division of Motor Vehicles
23 Hazen Dr.
Concord, NH 03305

If you have questions about the state's auto dealer surety bond requirements or your personal auto dealer license application, you can call the DMV at 1 (603) 227-4000 or email [email protected]

How do I update or change my vehicle dealer bond form?

If the Division of Motor Vehicles requires your surety bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.

The most common changes for these bonds include:

  • dealer/dealership name
  • dealership's physical business location
  • license type

How do you renew your New Hampshire auto dealer bond?

You should renew your New Hampshire auto dealer surety bond before its current 1-year-term expires. Once you pay your renewal invoice, renewal instructions will be emailed to keep your bond active for your next license term.

How do I get a New Hampshire auto dealer license? 

The steps below need to be completed in order to apply for a New Hampshire auto dealer license. 

  1. Submit the completed dealer license application specific to your dealer type.
  2. Receive town/city approval.
  3. Provide an original service agreement
  4. Purchase and file a $25,000 dealer surety bond. 
  5. Submit a copy of your lease (if applicable). 
  6. Complete and provide original criminal background checks for all owners. 
  7. Submit payment of licensing fees. 
  8. Successfully complete a title/dealer class.

The application and supporting documents must be completed, signed, and mailed to the Division of Motor Vehicles. 

Division of Motor Vehicles
Dealer Desk
23 Hazen Dr.
Concord, NH 03305

The following location requirements must also be met by motor vehicle dealers before being approved for a dealer license. 

  • established place of business
  • regular business hours between the hours of 6 AM and 9 PM (37 ½ hours per week)
  • visible signage 
  • single business location (retail vehicle dealers only)
  • permanent heating system (retail vehicle dealers only)
  • working electrical outlets (retail vehicle dealers only)

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert