Closed Monday 5/27 for Memorial Day

generic bond icon

New Mexico Athletic Event Promoter Bond

Price Varies / 1 year term


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a fight promoter bond cost in New Mexico?

The New Mexico State Athletic Commission requires promoters of professional combative athletic events to be bonded in the amount of $10,000.

New Mexico MMA promoter bonds are subject to underwriting, which means the price you’ll pay for your bond depends on a review of your personal credit report. However, the cost of these bonds starts at just $100 for qualified applicants.

Bond Type
$10,000Athletic Event Promoter Bond

Submit a bond request or call us at 1 (800) 308-4358 to speak with a sports event promoter bond expert. We’ll walk you through our quick application process and get you a free surety bond quote within one business day. It’s that easy!

Why do I need this bond?

Surety bonds for promoters of professional athletic events in New Mexico are put in place to ensure that principals (event promoters) adhere to the provisions of the New Mexico Athletic Commission and all regulations pertaining to the promotion of an athletic event approved by the commission. If the principal fails to adhere to these terms and any event participant, official, renter, advertiser, or employee or the state suffers monetary loss, the surety will cover the damages up to the full bond amount. The principal, in turn, must reimburse the surety for any damages paid out.

What’s the fine print?

New Mexico athletic event promoter bonds remain in full force until canceled by the surety. The surety can cancel the bond at any time by giving written notice of cancellation to the New Mexico Athletic Commission 30 days prior to the effective date of the termination.

How to become a professional athletic promoter in New Mexico

All licenses issued through the New Mexico Athletic Commission expire annually on December 31st. Each person licensed under the act must renew their license annually on or before the expiration date by submitting a renewal application, the renewal fee and two passport-size photos. A license that has not been renewed within 30 days of expiration is automatically expired, and the applicant must reapply as a new applicant.

Before an event permit is approved, the applicant must submit the following materials, along with the application to the commission:

  • completed event permit
  • bout sheet including the full name of each participant
  • contract weight and the number of scheduled rounds
  • insurance policy - surety protection for participants (fighter)
  • all contracts for all fighters (amateur and professional)
  • verification of adequate security (licensed)
  • verification of ambulance and medical technicians
  • pre- and post-ticket manifest
  • name of ticket agency

Complete licensing and event information can be accessed via the Additional Resources section of this page.

Additional Resources

New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department Boards and Commissions Athletic Commission: FAQs

New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department Boards and Commissions Athletic Commission: Rules and Laws

New Mexico Athletic Commission Professional Athletic Competition Act NMSA 60-2A-1 through 60-2A-22 Athletic Commission Rules and Regulations

New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department Boards and Commissions Athletic Commission: Forms and Applications

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert