Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does an Alcoholic Beverage Commission bond cost in Texas?
Texas Alcohol Beverage Commission surety bonds start at $100, but the cost varies based on the type of bond and its required amount, as well as a review of the applicant’s financial history.
The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission requires surety bonds for retailers to work legally within the state. The types of alcohol bonds typically required include the following:
- Conduct surety bonds
- Fee interest surety bonds for contract/alternating resident and non-resident brewers and manufacturers
- Liquor tax surety bonds
- Tax bonds
- Performance surety bonds
Ready to get bonded quickly, easily, and accurately? Call 1 (800) 308-4358 or submit an online bond request to connect with our team of bond professionals!
Conduct Surety Bonds
Texas conduct bonds are put in place to ensure principals (permit holders) conduct business in accordance with the rules and regulations set by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code and the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission.
Who needs a TABC conduct surety bond?
All retailers who do not hold a Food and Beverage Certificate need to be bonded. The amount varies based on the retailer’s distance from a public school. Refer to our TABC Conduct Bond Guide for more detailed information.
Fee Interest Bonds for Contract/Alternating Resident and Non-Resident Brewers and Manufacturers
Texas fee interest bonds ensure principals (permit holders) conduct business in accordance with the rules and regulations set by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code and the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission. These bonds are mandatory for applicants or holders of the manufacturer’s license or nonresident manufacturer’s license. The party must not own a fee interest (ownership) within a manufacturing facility.
When is a TABC fee interest bond required?
Holders of the following permit types who do not own a fee interest (ownership) in a brewery facility must post $30,000 TABC fee interest surety bonds:
- Brewer’s permit (B)
- Nonresident brewer’s permit (U)
- Manufacturer’s license (BA)
- Nonresident manufacturer’s license (BS)
Liquor Tax Bonds
Texas liquor tax bonds ensure principals (permit holders) account for and pay all permit fees, service fees, taxes, and penalties required by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission.
The required amount of a TABC liquor tax bond is determined by an estimate of six weeks’ sales by gallons for liquor and gallons and class for wine and size of ale, with a minimum of $1,000.
Who needs a TABC liquor tax bond?
The following types of permit holders must post TABC liquor tax bonds:
- Brewer’s permit
- Wholesaler’s permit
- General Class B wholesaler’s permit
- Wine bottler’s permit
- Winery permit
- Out-of-state winery direct shipper’s permit
The TABC can review and increase the required bond amount at any time.
The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission requires permit holders to obtain a tax bond to account for and pay all taxes, penalties, and interest in accordance with the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code.
The required amount of a TABC tax bond is determined by the maximum amount of beer sold in a 30-day period, with a minimum of $500. Applicants must submit a statement estimating the maximum amount of beer to be sold in a 30-day period.
Who needs a TABC tax bond?
The following types of permit holders must post TABC tax bonds:
- Brewpub license
- Branch distributor’s license
- General distributor’s license
- Local distributor’s license
- Manufacturer’s license
- Non-resident manufacturer’s license
Non-resident manufacturers must be bonded only if an applicant delivers to Texas in his or her vehicle. The required bond amount for this license is $10,000; however, the TABC can review and increase the required bond amount at any time.
Texas performance bonds ensure principals (permit holders) conduct business in accordance with the rules and regulations set by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code and the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission.
An initial performance bond in the amount of $2,000 is required. If the first bond is forfeited to the Commission, the license/permit holder must post a $4,000 bond before a license/permit can be reinstated. If the second bond is forfeited, a $6,000 bond is required.
Who needs a TABC performance bond?
The following types of permit holders must post performance surety bonds only if they’re located in Dallas, Tarrant, or Harris Counties and do not hold a Food and Beverage Certificate:
- Wine and beer retailer’s permit
- Beer retailer’s on-premise license
Effective Date and Cancellation Terms of TABC Bonds
TABC bonds become effective on the date of issuance of the permit or license issued by the committee and remain in effect until canceled or until the permit or license holder decides not to renew their bond.
The surety can cancel the bond by giving written notice of cancellation to the TABC. Cancellation becomes effective 30 days after the notice is received.
The best way to find out exactly how much you’ll pay for your surety bond is to apply for your free, no-obligation bond quote today!