generic bond icon

Georgia Auto Dealer Bond

Price Varies / 2 year term


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a Georgia auto dealer bond cost?

Georgia auto dealer bond costs start at $150 for the state-required 2-year term. Your personal premium will be provided after a quick application review. You invoice will cover the full 2-year term that expires on September 30th of even numbered years as required by the state.

How do I get a used auto dealer bond in Georgia?

You can apply for your Georgia auto dealer bond online 24/7. You'll need to provide the following information for Secretary of State filing approval.

  • dealer or dealership name
  • licensed location address
  • county
  • dealer license number, if available

Once your order has been processed, you'll receive your official Georgia MVD bond by email.

How fast can I get a used motor vehicle dealer bond?

Our industry-leading technology and responsive customer service team allow us to offer free quotes and deliver your official Georgia used motor vehicle bond faster than any other surety provider. Orders placed by 4 PM CST Monday-Friday are typically processed with same-day emailed Georgia dealer bond delivery.

If you have any questions about the Georgia auto dealer bond or your application, call 1(800)308-4358 to speak with one of our friendly surety experts. We're here to guide you through the dealer bond process so you can get back to running your business.

Bond Type
$35,000Used Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond

What is a Georgia used motor dealer surety bond?

Georgia auto dealer bonds ensure the state's used car dealers abide by the state's regulations. The bond guarantees the surety and/or dealer will pay all losses, damages, and expenses that may be sustained by used motor vehicle consumers resulting from a dealer's wrongdoing. By filing a surety bond with the state, a used car dealership essentially agrees to abide by all state laws and regulations. The $35,000 used car dealer bond amount ensures that consumers have the ability to file claims against dealerships that fail to adhere to Georgia law.

Who needs a Georgia auto dealer bond?

The Georgia State Board for the Registration of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers requires used auto dealers be licensed and bonded as part of their registration process. If you have questions about your auto dealer license application, status of your current license, or surety bond requirement, you can contact the board by calling 1(404)424-9966.

The Secretary of State requires the Georgia auto dealer bond for motor vehicle dealer licensing. If you sell used vehicle parts, you need a Georgia used motor vehicle parts dealer bond. If you're trying to register a vehicle without a title, you need a Georgia certificate of title bond.

How do Georgia auto dealers file surety bonds?

After you've purchased and received your official auto dealer bond, you'll file it along with your Georgia dealer license application.

State Board of Registration of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers & Used Motor Vehicle Parts Dealers
Used Motor Vehicle Dealers Division
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, Georgia 31217

Watch this video for an in-depth review of Georgia auto dealer bond application requirements, cost expectations, and document delivery.

When do Georgia auto dealer bonds expire?

On May 26, 2022, the Georgia State Board for the Registration of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers changed used motor vehicle license expiration requirements from March 31st of even numbered years to September 30th of even numbered years.

How do I renew my auto dealer bond in Georgia?

You must renew your Georgia auto dealer bond before its current term expires on September 30th of even numbered years. Once you pay your renewal invoice, a new surety bond form will be issued and sent to you to file with the Georgia State Board for the Registration of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers.

How do I update or change information on my used motor vehicle dealer bond form?

If the Georgia State Board for the Registration of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers requires your surety bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from, email [email protected] to explain the needed change. The most common changes requested are updating your dealer or dealership name or licensed location address to match your car dealer application or license.

How do I get an auto dealer license in Georgia?

Learn How to Get a Georgia Auto Dealer License by reviewing our comprehensive guide.

You'll need to complete the following steps to apply for your Georgia used motor vehicle dealers license.

  1. Pass an inspection.
  2. Purchase a $35,000 surety bond .
  3. Obtain an original certificate of insurance.
  4. Complete the established place of business requirements & submit photos.
  5. Obtain a sales tax number through the State Department of Revenue.
  6. Complete the fingerprint-based background check (register through Georgia Applicant Processing Services).
  7. Attend the pre-licensing seminar.
  8. Submit an application fee of $170 as well as a licensing fee of $170.

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert