Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
Georgia Used Auto Dealer Bond
The Georgia State Board of Registration- Used Motor Vehicle Dealers Division requires all used auto dealers to be licensed and bonded as part of the registration process. Used auto dealer bonds expire on March 31st of even number years and are distributed on a two-year term. If you are an auto dealer who sells used parts, visit our Georgia used motor vehicle parts dealer bond page.
How much does a Georgia used auto dealer bond cost?
The cost of a used auto dealer bond starts at just $306! The total bond amount is $35,000; however, the bond premium can range anywhere between 1% to 4% of the bond amount for the two-year term. Premiums are based on your current financial situation, including your credit score.
Work with one of our surety bond experts to ensure you are getting the best rate possible. Bad credit? No problem! SuretyBonds.com offers an exclusive bad credit bonding program through which we approve 99% of applicants for the bonds they need quickly and easily. Request your free bond quote now!
Georgia used auto dealer bond video guide
This short video gives an in-depth look at specific bond information, application requirements, cost expectations, and the logistics involved in receiving your bond. For more information, watch below!
Call 1 (800) 308-4358, or submit a bond request, to connect with our team of surety bond experts. We can provide your free, no-strings-attached bond quote within 1 business day of submitting your application!
Why do I need a motor vehicle dealer bond in Georgia?
The purpose of a used car dealer bond is to ensure that customers have financial security in case the dealership acts unlawfully. By posting a surety bond, the used car dealership is signaling that they are a trustworthy dealer who abides by all state laws and regulations. The dealer pledges to pay all loss, damages, and expenses that may be sustained by any purchaser of any used motor vehicle that occurs as a result of the dealer’s wrongdoing.
Ready to get bonded quickly and easily? Get started now!
Please note this page is for vehicle dealer licensing. If you have lost or need to obtain a vehicle title, a Georgia certificate of title bond is required.
How to get a used auto dealer license in Georgia
In order to get your used motor vehicle dealers license, you must:
- Pass an Inspection
- Obtain a surety bond in the amount of $35,000
- Obtain an original certificate of insurance
- Complete the established place of business requirements & submit photos
- Obtain a sales tax number through the State Department of Revenue
- Complete the fingerprint-based background check (register through Georgia Applicant Processing Services)
- Attend the pre-licensing seminar (for approved education providers, visit www.sos.ga.gov)
- Submit an application fee of $170 as well as a licensing fee of $170
Take the first step toward becoming licensed in Georgia by purchasing the surety bond you need! Our experts do all of the hard work for you so that you can focus on what you do best: running your business.