Illinois Public Adjuster Bond
Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.
1 year term
2 year term - save $50.00!
3 year term - save $100.00!
Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a $20,000 public adjuster surety bond cost in Illinois?
Illinois public adjuster surety bonds are issued instantly for just $200 and require no underwriting. Public adjuster bonds posted for multiple years will be issued a multi-year discount. Simply click Buy Now to visit our secure bond checkout and buy your bond directly from our site. In just a few minutes, you can be on your way to getting bonded as a public adjuster in Illinois.
Why do I need this bond?
The Illinois Department of Insurance mandates that all public adjusters in the state post a $20,000 surety bond for the protection of their clients.
An Illinois public adjuster bond ensures that all public adjusters are held accountable for the way they conduct themselves professionally. An individual seeking to be licensed as a public adjuster must provide the bond before the license will be issued.
According to the Illinois compiled statutes, this bond “shall be in favor of this State and shall specifically authorize recovery by the Director on behalf of any person in this State who sustained damages as the result of erroneous acts, failure to act, conviction of fraud, or conviction of unfair practices in his or her capacity as a public adjuster.”
What’s the fine print?
The insurance producer’s Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN/IRS Tax ID) or social security number (SSN) must be listed on the bond form. This bond is continuous until canceled. If the bond is to be canceled, the surety company must provide the obligee with at least 30 days’ notice.
How to become a public adjuster in Illinois
To obtain or maintain a business license, all public adjusters in Illinois must meet the following criteria and submit an application:
1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age.
In order for the public adjuster application to be considered, applicants are only eligible if they are 18 years of age or older.
2. Become bonded.
All applications for public adjusters licenses must have attached proof of insurance by a surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit in the amount of $20,000. The proper bond (Form PAB) must contain:
- The name of the principal/licensee as it appears on the application
- The principal’s address as it appears on the application for license
- The surety company’s name and company number
- The bond number
- Original signature of the principal and the surety company’s officer or attorney-in-fact
3. Get a written contract.
Prior to conducting business as a public adjuster; compliance with Section 1501 of Illinois Insurance Code and Administrative Rule 3118 is required. You are required to submit your public adjuster contract to the Department for approval. You cannot enter into a contract with an insured until the contract is approved by the Illinois Department of Insurance.
A public insurance adjuster shall not provide services until a written contract with the insured has been executed on a form filed with and approved by the Director. Applicants can check out the Illinois Public Adjuster Contract Checklist for in-depth steps.
4. Obtain a background check.
Effective January 1, 2010, all public adjuster applicants must submit fingerprints to an approved Live Scan Fingerprint vendor and pay the required fee to the vendor. They must apply submit a fingerprint consent form (document) to assure compliance. License will not be issued until required background check has been completed.
NOTE: No license will be issued until the Department receives the fingerprint results from the State Police.
5. Take the exam.
The public adjuster application consists of passing a written examination that will test the knowledge of the individual regarding the responsibilities expected of a public adjuster. Questions also involve Illinois’ insurance laws and regulations. Every exam is different, and questions are conducted under strict regulations by the director.
Public adjuster exams can be administered in an outside testing facility, but you must make an effort to show up to complete the exam and pass. If you do not pass the exam on your first attempt, you will have to wait seven days until you can reschedule for the second attempt. After your second attempt, you will have to wait 30 days to reschedule your exam.
The examination fee of $92 includes the $50 State of Illinois administrative fee.
6. Submit your application.
Once the above steps have been completed, applicants can compile the required documents to submit. Mail the application to the Illinois Department of Insurance at:
320 W. Washington St., Springfield, IL 62701
Attach a check or money order payable to the Director of Insurance for the $250 license fee for two years.
NOTE: Illinois public adjuster licenses are valid for two years. This differs from the validation of the bond required to maintain licensure; public adjuster bonds are to be renewed every year.
Ready to get started?
Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert today.