generic bond icon

Massachusetts Used Auto Dealer Bond

Price Varies / 1 year term


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a Massachusetts used auto dealer bond cost?

Massachusetts used auto dealer bond costs start at $250 for the state-required 1-year term. Your exact surety bond cost will be provided after a quick application review. Apply now to get your free, personal used car dealer bond quote!

How do you get a Massachusetts auto dealer bond?

You can apply for your free Massachusetts used auto dealer bond quote online 24/7. You'll need to provide the following information for Registry of Motor Vehicles approval. 

  • dealer/dealership name
  • business location address 
  • city or county licensing office address
  • dealer license number, if available

Once your order has been processed, you'll receive a copy of your bond via email, and your official bond will be shipped to your preferred mailing address.

How fast can I get a used car dealer bond?

Our industry-leading technology and responsive customer service team allow us to offer free quotes and deliver official Massachusetts used car dealer bonds faster than any other surety provider. The Registry of Motor Vehicles requires these bonds be physically issued and delivered to you. Orders placed by 4 PM CST Monday-Friday are typically shipped same-day. If you're in a rush, choose overnight shipping during checkout.

If you have questions about the Massachusetts used car dealer bond requirement or your application, call 1 (800) 308-4358 to speak with a friendly surety expert. We're here to guide you through the car dealer bond process so you can get back to running your business.

Bond Type
$25,000Used Auto Dealer Bond

What is a Massachusetts auto dealer bond?

Massachusetts General Laws Part 1 Title 20 Chapter 140, Section 58 requires a $25,000 surety bond be filed by any person who works as a vehicle manufacturer agent or vehicle dealer. The state's required bond form S-6472 is titled the “Massachusetts Used Car Dealer's Bond,” but it's also known as the “Second Hand Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond” or the “Used Auto Dealer Bond.” If a licensed dealer fails to operate their business according to Massachusetts laws, harmed individuals can file a claim against the bond after obtaining a final judgment against the dealer from a court. The issuing surety company would then pay valid claims up to the full $25,000 bond amount, which the dealer must then reimburse. 

Who needs a Massachusetts auto dealer bond?

Massachusetts defines a “dealer” as any person who buys, sells, or exchanges motor vehicles, trailers, or motor vehicle bodies in a maintained business facility open to the public. Massachusetts General Laws require all dealers licensed in the state to file a $25,000 motor vehicle dealer bond as part of their license application. Auto dealers must maintain an active bond as long as they're licensed to sell vehicles in the state. 

The Massachusetts used car dealer's bond is required for professional dealer licensing. If you're trying to register a vehicle with a missing title, you need a separate Massachusetts certificate of title bond.

Who regulates licensing for used car dealers?

The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) enforces business license regulations for auto dealers in the state, including the used car dealer surety bond requirement. If you have questions about the auto dealer surety bond or your car dealer license application, you can call the RMV at 1 (857) 368-8030.

How do I update or change my motor vehicle dealer bond?

If the Registry of Motor Vehicles requires your surety bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your Massachusetts surety bond from, email our customer service team at [email protected] to explain the needed change.

The most common changes requested are the dealership's name or address.

How do you renew your Massachusetts auto dealer bond?

You should renew your Massachusetts auto dealer surety bond before its current 1-year term expires. Once you pay your renewal invoice, renewal instructions will be emailed to you to keep your bond active for your next license term. 

How do I get a Massachusetts used car dealer's license?

Massachusetts General Laws grant dealer licensing authority to individual cities and towns throughout the state. Required documents to be submitted by all dealer applicants include an auto dealer license application and a $25,000 used motor vehicle dealer license surety bond. Applicants should contact the licensing board of the city or town where they will be doing business for more information on the license application process.

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert