generic bond icon

New Jersey Money Transmitter Bond

Select Bond For Price


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a money transmitter bond cost in New Jersey?

The New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance requires money transmission professionals to post surety bonds in order to legally operate and perform services as a money transmitter within the state. Before reaching out to a surety expert to start the bonding process, applicants should contact the state in order to find out the exact bond amount they’ll need to post. Money transmitters in operating in New Jersey must have a minimum $100,000 surety bond, while those working in New Jersey but transmitting outside the country need a minimum $25,000 bond.

These bonds are subject to underwriting, meaning your financials will be used to help determine the exact amount you’ll pay for the bond. Our team of specialists at makes the bonding process fast and hassle-free.

Bond Type
$25,000Money Transmitter BondNew Foreign Money Transmitter
$100,000Money Transmitter BondNew Money Transmitter or Total Annual Volume of $15 Million or Less
$100,001-$1,000,000Money Transmitter BondTotal Annual Volume Greater Than $15 Million

If you’re ready to get bonded, we’re ready to help. Call at 1 (800) 308-4358 or request a bond quote.

Why do I need this bond?

New Jersey money transmitter bonds exist to ensure that principals (money transmitters) perform services in accordance with Section 17:15-1C of the New Jersey Statutes Annotated, the Money Transmitters Act and all other laws applicable to the business of money transmission. If the principal conducts business in a dishonest manner, consumers will not be held responsible for any financial damages. The principal will then be responsible for reimbursing the surety for any expenses used to cover consumers.

What’s the fine print?

New Jersey money transmitter bonds run continuously unless otherwise canceled. If the surety or principal decide to terminate the bond at any time, 30 days’ written notice must be submitted to the obligee announcing said cancellation.

How to become a money transmitter in New Jersey

To become a licensed money transmitter in New Jersey, applicants must submit the following pieces of information or documentation at the time of application:

  • Application prescribed by the Department
  • Copy of financial statement
  • Company check or money order
  • Nonrefundable licensing feE

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert