Texas Insurance Agency Bond
Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.
1 year term
2 year term - save $62.50!
3 year term - save $125.00!
Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a Texas $25,000 insurance agency bond cost?
The Texas Department of Insurance requires insurance agencies to post $25,000 surety bonds to qualify for an insurance agency license.
Surety bonds for Texas insurance agencies are issued instantly and cost just $250. Select your term information to buy your bond via our secure bond checkout. A 25% discount is available for subsequent years if multiple years of coverage are purchased. In just a few minutes, you can be on your way to getting bonded as an insurance agency in Texas.
Why do I need this bond?
Texas insurance agency bonds exist to protect consumers and the state from any illegal or fraudulent activity that occurs at the hand of a principal (insurance agency). By posting this bond, the principal agrees to abide by all provisions of the Insurance Code of the Texas Legislation. Prohibited acts according to this code include:
- failing to renew license while continuing business operations
- failing to inform the Department of any agent’s termination and cause of termination, change of mailing address, felony convictions, and any administrative action taken by another state or the federal government
- acquiring and insuring any good that they have personal interest in
- failing to maintain necessary records
If any of these acts occur and a valid claim is made against the insurance agency’s bond, the surety will initially cover all damages. The principal must fully reimburse the surety for all damages paid out.
What’s the fine print?
Insurance agency bonds in Texas are continuous until canceled. If the surety decides to cancel this bond prior to the termination date, it must provide at least 30 days of notice to the Texas Department of Insurance.
How to start an insurance agency in Texas
Posting an insurance agency bond is just the first step toward becoming licensed to work as an insurance agency in Texas. Insurance agencies must submit the following fees, documents, and information to the Department to be eligible for licensure:
- $50 per license fee per license type
- Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)
- applicant’s email address
- any responsible persons must be fingerprinted
- business authority
- financial responsibility
- errors and omissions insurance
Ready to get started?
Texas Department of Insurance Insurance Agency Bond
Texas Department of Insurance Applications Section Application for Insurance Agency License
Texas Department of Insurance Agent / Adjuster Forms
Texas Department of Insurance Bond Resources Information regarding the different types of bonds
Texas Legislation Insurance Code Title 13, Subtitle A, Chapter 4001 - Agent Licensing in General
Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert today.