generic bond icon

West Virginia Money Transmitter Bond

Select Bond For Price


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a money transmitter bond cost in West Virginia?

The West Virginia Department of Financial Institutions requires money transmission professionals to post surety bonds to legally work within the state. Before beginning the bonding process, applicants should verify their required bond amount with the state in which they choose to do business. This bond must have $100,000 minimum coverage.

This specific bond type is subject to underwriting, meaning the amount you’ll pay depends on a review of your personal credit report as well as your required bond amount.

Don’t worry about bad credit affecting your chance of posting a bond. The experts at make the bonding process fast and easy for all applicants. Request your free bond quote now.

Bond Type
$100,000-$1,000,000Money Transmitter BondCurrency Exchange or Check/Money Order Sales
$300,000-$1,000,000Money Transmitter BondMoney Transmission or Transportation

If you’re ready to get bonded, call at 1 (800) 308-4358 or submit a bond request. We'll provide your free quote within 1 business day.

Why do I need this bond?

West Virginia money transmitter surety bonds guarantee that principals (money transmission professionals) conduct business in compliance with Chapter 32A of the West Virginia Code and all other laws applicable to the business of money transmission. If fraudulent activity occurs as a result of malpractice conducted by the principal, consumers will not face any financial harm. Acts of malpractice and causes for license suspension and revocation include:

  • knowingly or repeatedly violating Chapter 32A of the West Virginia Code or any rule or order lawfully made or issued pursuant to this article
  • failing to remit its required renewal fees
  • failing or refusing to keep the surety bond or other security required by section 10 of Chapter 32A

Other causes for license suspension and revocation can be found below in the Additional Resources section.

What’s the fine print?

West Virginia money transmitter licenses remain in effect for one year and can be renewed with a $250 annual fee for the principal location and an additional $20 fee for each additional location. The applicant must have a minimum net worth of $50,000 to apply for this license.

How to become a money transmitter in West Virginia

To become a licensed money transmitter in West Virginia, applicants must provide the following information on the license application:

  • legal name of the applicant and their principal business addresses
  • location of the applicant’s official books and records
  • list of all states in which the applicant currently conducts money transmission activity

Other license application requirements can be found below in the Additional Resources section.

In addition, applicants must submit a nonrefundable $1,000 application fee.

Upon the filing of the application, a mandatory investigation will be conducted to determine if all required criteria are met by the applicant.

Take the first step toward becoming licensed in West Virginia by purchasing the surety bond you need.

Ready to get started?

Additional Resources

West Virginia Department of Financial Institutions

West Virginia Code Chapter 32A - Money Transmission Services

  • West Virginia Code 32A-2-4: License Application Requirements
  • West Virginia Code 32A-2-25: License Suspension and Revocation

West Virginia Money Transmitter License Application and Surety Bond Form

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert