generic bond icon

West Virginia Notary Bond

Price Varies / 1 year term


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

Effective June 3, 2018, House Bill 4207 removes the requirement for notaries in West Virginia to obtain a $1,000 surety bond. Please visit our notary bond page for general information on surety bonds for notaries.

How much does a $1,000 West Virginia notary bond cost?

West Virginia notary bonds are issued instantly for five years starting at just $35. Errors and omissions coverage is also available. Including errors and omissions insurance with your bond ensures you are NOT held personally liable for mistakes made while notarizing documents. Visit our blog for more information on this essential coverage.

Why do I need this bond?

The West Virginia Secretary of State requires notaries to post $1,000 surety bonds to be commissioned.

By posting a notary bond, the principal (notary) guarantees that he or she will faithfully and honestly perform the duties of the office and pay over all money that might come into his or her possession while on the job, as required by law.

What’s the fine print?

West Virginia notary bonds run continuously for five years from the effective date, at which point the bond must be renewed.

The revised West Virginia notary laws became effective on July 1, 2014. The major changes under West Virginia Code 39-4 (Revised Uniform Law On Notarial Acts) include:

  • Reduces notary commission from 10 years to 5 years
  • Obtain $1,000 surety bond or its equivalent in professional insurance
  • Increases amount notary can charge for services from $2 to $5
  • Allows for notarization of electronic documents (e-notarization)

How to become a notary public in West Virginia

West Virginia notary applicants must meet the following requirements prior to being commissioned as a notary:

  • Minimum 18 years of age
  • Resident of United States
  • Resident of West Virginia or a resident of another state who works at an office within West Virginia
  • Ability to read and write in English
  • Possess high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Eligible to receive commission pursuant to West Virginia Code 39-4-21

Additional Resources

Surety Bond Insider: West Virginia introduces surety bond requirement for notary publics

West Virginia Secretary of State Applying for a Notary Public Commission

West Virginia Code Chapter 39, Article 1: Authentication and Record of Writings

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert