generic bond icon

Connecticut Mortgage Licensee Bond

Select Bond For Price


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a Connecticut mortgage licensee bond cost?

Connecticut mortgage licensee bond costs start at $375 for the state-required 1-year term. Your exact premium will be provided after a quick application underwriting review. The cost is calculated as a small percentage of the bond amount required for your license type.

How do I get a mortgage license bond in Connecticut?

You can apply for your Connecticut mortgage licensee bond online 24/7 through our safe and secure application portal. You must provide the following information for Department of Banking approval.

  • name
  • county
  • license type
  • NMLS license number

Once your order is processed, will file your Connecticut surety bond directly with the NMLS.

How fast can I get a mortgage broker, lender, or correspondent bond?

Our industry-leading technology and responsive customer service team allow us to offer free quotes and file your official Connecticut mortgage licensee bond directly with the NMLS faster than any other surety provider. Orders placed by 4 PM CST Monday-Friday are typically processed and filed same-day.

If you have any questions about mortgage broker and lender bonds or your application, call 1(800)308-4358 to speak with one of our friendly surety experts.

Bond Type
$50,000Mortgage Licensee BondMortgage Brokers
$100,000Mortgage Licensee BondMortgage Lenders and Correspondents
$100,001-$500,000Mortgage Licensee BondHigher amounts required based on business loan volume

What is a Connecticut mortgage licensee bond?

Connecticut General Statutes § 36a-719c requires individuals file a surety bond as part of the Connecticut mortgage licensing application process. By filing a Connecticut mortgage broker bond or Connecticut mortgage loan originator bond, you agree to follow state law that regulates the financial services industry. The bond form specifically requires that mortgage professionals fulfill contracts and accurately account for funds received from borrowers and prospective borrowers.

If a mortgage professional fails to follow the state's financial services law, the surety company will pay valid claims up to the full bond amount. The bonded mortgage broker or lender must then reimburse the surety company for paid claims.

Why do you need a Connecticut mortgage licensee bond?

You need a Connecticut mortgage licensee bond if you work as a mortgage broker or mortgage loan originator or make residential mortgage loans. Your surety bond form will indicate your specific license type (mortgage broker, mortgage lender, or mortgage correspondent lender), which will determine your required bond amount.

Note: If you're a mortgage servicer in Connecticut, you must file a separate surety bond form with the state. To apply for a mortgage servicer bond, call 1 (800) 308-4358.

Who regulates licensing for mortgage professionals in Connecticut?

The Connecticut Department of Banking enforces licensing requirements for mortgage brokers, mortgage lenders, and mortgage correspondents in the state. The Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS) manages application submissions on behalf of the state.

How do I update or change my mortgage surety bond form?

If the Connecticut Department of Banking requires your surety bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.

The most common changes for these bonds include:

  • name
  • county
  • license number

How I renew my mortgage bond?

You must renew your mortgage surety bond whenever the current term expires. Once you pay your renewal invoice, you'll receive emailed renewal instructions to keep your bond and license active with the NMLS.

How do mortgage brokers apply for a license in Connecticut?

Connecticut mortgage licensing requirements vary based on which license you need.

Mortgage Broker License

  1. Mortgage broker licenses apply to those who get compensation, gain, or the expectation of compensation or gain to take a residential mortgage loan application or offer a residential mortgage loan.
  2. This is secured by a mortgage on an interest in 1 to 4 family-owner-occupied residential properties in Connecticut made by a mortgage lender.
    NMLS: New Connecticut Mortgage Broker Company Application Checklist

Mortgage Correspondent Lender License

  1. Mortgage correspondent lender licenses apply to those who make residential mortgage loans or issue credit extensions.
  2. The lender must do so in their own name for 1 to 4 family-owner-occupied residential properties in Connecticut. These loans cannot be held by a person or entity for more than 90 days.
    NMLS: New Connecticut Mortgage Correspondent Lender Application Checklist

Mortgage Lender License

  1. Mortgage lender licenses apply to those who make residential mortgage loans or issue credit extensions in their own name.
  2. These lenders use their own funds, secured by a mortgage on interest in 1 to 4 family-owner-occupied properties in Connecticut.
    NMLS: New Connecticut Mortgage Lender Application Checklist

Find information about mortgage industry surety bond requirements in other states below.

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert