Utah Collection Agency Bond

Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.


1 year term



2 year term - save $25.00!



3 year term - save $50.00!

We offer 24/7 instant email delivery. Buy your bond now to get it within 6 minutes!


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a collection agency bond cost in Utah?

A collection agency bond in Utah costs $100 and is issued instantly. A multi-year discount of 25% applies to subsequent years when multiple years are purchased. Simply click Buy Now to purchase your surety bond online using our secure checkout process. It only takes a few minutes to be on your way to starting a Utah collection agency.

Bond Type
$10,000Collection Agency Bond

Why do Utah collection agencies need to post a surety bond?

Under the provisions of Title 12 of the Utah Code, no person or business may conduct collections without having first registered with the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code with a filed and sufficient $10,000 bond.

Utah collection agency bonds ensure that principals (collection agencies) adhere to the provisions of Title 12, Utah Code Annotated 1953. Specifically, this bond guarantees any funds collected by a collection agency are handled in accordance with the agreed-upon collection contract.

Terms of a collection agency surety bond in Utah

Utah collection agency surety bonds remain valid for 1 year from the effective date, and it is the responsibility of the collection agency to renew the surety bond to avoid violation of statute.

The surety can cancel the bond at any time by providing written notice of cancellation 30 days in advance to the Utah Department of Commerce Division of Corporations and Commercial Code and the collection agency.

How to receive a Utah collection agency license

To receive a Utah collection agency license and become properly registered, you must fill out the application form, obtain a $10,000 surety bond, and pay the $32 registration fee to the State of Utah. Your business name must be registered prior to your filing.

Begin your Utah collection agency registration process by completing the application form. Be sure to check the “Registration” box when filling it out. For additional details on each step, refer to the guide sheet on filing a collection agency application.

When the application is completed and you have purchased your surety bond, you may file the application in person or by mail at the following address:

Utah Department of Commerce
Division of Corporations & Commercial Code
PO Box 146705
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6705

If you need to send your application materials via overnight mail, send your materials to the following address:

Utah Department of Commerce
Division of Corporations and Commercial Code
160 East 300 South, 2nd Floor
Salt Lake City Utah 84111

Renewing your Utah collection agency registration

You can renew your agency by filing an application for a collection agency and checking the “Renewal” box. You will need to resubmit your collection agency surety bond or continuation certificate as well as pay the $32 renewal fee.

Collection Agency Bonds Nationwide

Many collection agencies operate in multiple states, meaning they may be required to have multiple surety bonds. Get more information about other states’ collection agency bond requirements by selecting a state on the map below.

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert