Closed Monday 5/27 for Memorial Day

Washington Collection Agency Bond

Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.


1 year term



2 year term - save $25.00!



3 year term - save $50.00!

We offer 24/7 instant email delivery. Buy your bond now to get it within 6 minutes!


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a Washington collection agency bond cost?

A $5,000 Washington collection agency bond costs $100 per year and can be purchased instantly online. You can also save time and money on your renewal surety bond by selecting a two-year or three-year term at checkout.

Bond Type
$5,000Collection Agency Bond

Why do I need a collection agency bond?

The Washington Department of Licensing, Collection Agency Section requires collection agencies, both out-of-state and in-state, to post $5,000 surety bonds.

By posting a Washington collection agency surety bond, principals (in-state or out-of-state collection agencies) pledge to comply with provisions of Chapter 19.16 of the Revised Code of Washington, as well as all rules and regulations put into place by the Director of the Department of Licensing. Specifically, the bond guarantees that the principal will pay all fees and amounts that become due if they violate the terms of the bond agreement.

Submit a bond request now. Our professionals can get you set up with the bond you need instantly for just $100.

What’s the fine print on a Washington collection agency bond?

Collection agency bonds in Washington remain continuous until canceled. The surety can cancel the bond by providing written notice of cancellation to the Department of Licensing at least 30 days prior to the effective date of cancellation.

What is considered a collection agency in Washington?

According to the Washington State Department of Revenue, any business involved in collecting debt on the behalf of a debt owner or a debt buyer is considered a debt collection agency. The state requires that these businesses have a collection agency endorsement and be licensed in the state of Washington. Washington is considered a closed-border state, meaning that if a debt collection agency needs to contact a client in the state, it must first acquire a debt collector license for the state of Washington.

To become a licensed collection agency in Washington, applicants must submit the following materials:

  • Completed business license application, business license application supplement for collection agency, branch office or out-of-state office and business financial statement/balance sheet
  • $5,000 surety bond
  • Pay required fees
  • Information on individuals with more than 20% interest in the business

Begin the licensing process by purchasing your bond for just $100!

Does my business need an out-of-state Washington collection agency license?

The difference between the two different Washington debt collector licenses are as follows:

  • Businesses need a regular Washington collection agency license if:
    The business’s main office is in Washington
    The business’s office is outside of Washington and has, or plan to have, clients located in Washington.
  • Businesses need an out-of-state Washington collection agency license if:
    The main office and all branch offices are located outside of Washington
    The business does not have any clients located in Washington
    The business is contacting debtors in Washington who owe money to out-of-state clients

How to become a licensed collection agency in Washington

To become a licensed collection agency in Washington, applicants are required to take the following steps:

  1. Complete a business application license and a collection agency license addendum
  2. Submit a business financial statement that includes liabilities and assets of the agency from one of the three months prior to application and proof of equity or net worth of at least $7,500
  3. Obtain a $5,000 Washington debt collector surety bond
  4. Pay the required fees:
    $850 Washington collection agency license fee
    $19 Washington business license fee
  5. Submit the application online or by mail to the Department of Revenue:

Business Licensing Service
P.O. Box 9034
Olympia, WA 98507-9034

Collection Agency Bonds Nationwide

Many collection agencies operate in multiple states, meaning they may be required to have multiple surety bonds. Get more information about other states’ collection agency bond requirements by selecting a state on the map below.

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert