How much does a $5,000 debt collection agency bond cost in Washington?
The Washington Department of Licensing, Collection Agency Section requires collection agencies, both out-of-state and in-state, to post $5,000 surety bonds. SuretyBonds.com issues these bonds instantly for 99% of applicants at a cost of just $100.
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost*|
|$5,000 Collection Agency Bond||$5,000||Starts at $100||Applyy Now|
5 minutes and $100 is all it takes to get the bond you need when you choose SuretyBonds.com! Call 1 (800) 308-4358, or submit a bond request to get started.
Why do I need this bond?
By posting a Washington collection agency surety bond, principals (in-state or out-of-state collection agencies) pledge to comply with provisions of Chapter 19.16 of the Revised Code of Washington, as well as all rules and regulations adopted by the Director of the Department of Licensing. Specifically, the bond guarantees that the principal will pay all fees and amounts that become due if he or she violates the terms of the bond agreement.
Submit a bond request now! Our experts can get you set up with the bond you need instantly for just $100.
What’s the fine print?
Collection agency bonds in Washington remain continuous until canceled. The surety can cancel the bond by providing written notice of cancellation to the Department of Licensing at least 30 days prior to the effective date of cancellation.
How to become a collection agency in Washington
If you solicit, collect, or attempt to collect claims for collection, you need:
- a collection agency license if your main office is:
- in Washington or
- outside of Washington and you have, or plan to have, clients located in Washington
- an out-of-state collection agency license if:
- your main office and all branch offices are located outside of Washington
- you don't have any clients located in Washington and
- you're contacting debtors in Washington who owe money to your out-of-state clients
To become a licensed collection agency in Washington, applicants must submit the following materials:
- completed business license application, business license application supplement for collection agency, branch office or out-of-state office and business financial statement/balance sheet
- $5,000 surety bond
- appropriate fees
- list of individuals with more than 20% interest in the business
Collection Agency Bonds Nationwide
Many collection agencies operate in multiple states, meaning they may be required to have multiple surety bonds. Get more information about other states’ collection agency bond requirements by selecting a state on the map below.
Or, choose your state from the list below:
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Washington D.C.
- West Virginia