generic bond icon

Florida Construction License Bond

Select Bond For Price


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

The Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation no longer requires Construction License Bonds as of 4/13/22.

What if I need a different type of surety bond in Florida?

If you need a contractor license bond for a specific city or county in Florida, visit our Florida Contractor License Bond page for more information.

Payment bonds and performance bonds are often required for specific construction projects. No matter the state, can get you the bond you need for your next job.

Or, you can browse our Florida surety bond page for information on the state's other surety bond requirements.

What is a Florida Construction License Bond?

The Construction Industry Licensing Board previously required that licensed contractors with FICO credit scores below 660 prove financial responsibility by purchasing and filing a surety bond. This bond was also known as a Florida Contractors SUB-660 FICO Credit Score Bond, Division I Contractor License Bond, Division II Contractor License Bond, or Florida Financial Stability Bond.

Construction license bonds guarantee licensees made all payments to the Florida State Treasurer and kept accurate books and records to provide reports as necessary. By filing a construction bond, licensees indemnified themselves to comply with all laws and regulations set forth by the Board. In the event that the licensee failed to meet any of these guarantees, a claim could be filed against the bond. The surety would them handle the claim by paying out up to the amount of the bond, at which point the licensee would reimburse the surety.

How much does a construction bond cost in Florida?

The bond amount was dependent upon the license type. Division I contractor bond amounts were set at $20,000 while Division II bond amounts were set at $10,000. However, these amounts could be lowered to $10,000 for Division I contractors and $5,000 for Division II contractors if they completed a board-approved financial responsibility course. The cost of these bonds was subject to underwriting, although applicants with credit closer to 660 could be approved at just 1-3% of their bond amount. 

Bond Type
$5,000(Retired) Construction License BondDivision II Contractor who has completed board-approved financial responsibility course
$10,000(Retired) Construction License BondDivision II Contractor or Division I Contractor who has completed board-approved financial responsibility course
$20,000(Retired) Construction License BondDivision I Contractor

How to get a construction license in Florida

To be licensed to work as contractor in Florida, individuals must meet the following requirements:

  • Submit an application
  • 18 years of age
  • Pass state certification exam
  • Four years of experience and/or college
  • Provide fingerprints for background check
  • Obtain liability and property damage insurance
  • Pay any applicable fees

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert